Family Film and TV Awards

The 26th
film and
TV Awards

We are proud to present a one-hour TV Special that will air on CBS, Saturday January 27th 2024, 8.00pm-9.00pm ET/PT.

Hosted by


Akbar Gbajabiamila

Akbar Gbajabiamila is a television host and former NFL player. He serves as host of THE TALK, CBS’ Daytime Emmy Award-winning talk show that examines topical events and contemporary issues through the eyes of five hosts, alongside Amanda Kloots, Natalie Morales, Jerry O’Connell and Sheryl Underwood. Read more about Akbar HERE.

Amanda Kloots

An Ohio native, Amanda Kloots brings her infectious and inspirational attitude to everything that she does. She serves as host of THE TALK, CBS’ Daytime Emmy Award-winning talk show highlighting current events, pop culture, family, celebrity and trending topics of the day through the eyes of four hosts, alongside Akbar Gbajabiamila, Natalie Morales, Jerry O’Connell and Sheryl Underwood. Read more about Amanda HERE..

January 27, 2024 – The 26th Annual FAMILY FILM AND TV AWARDS, hosted by Akbar Gbajabiamila and Amanda Kloots (THE TALK hosts), took place on CBS. Legendary Emmy, Golden Globe, and Grammy-winning actor Beau Bridges received the ICON Award, presented by Ernie Hudson. The night also featured a performance by multi-platinum singer/songwriter Andy Grammer.

With appearances by Margot Robbie (Barbie), America Ferrera (Barbie), Adam Sandler (Leo, You Are So Not Invited to My Bat Mitzvah), Drew Carey (The Price Is Right), The D’Amelio Family (Marc, Heidi, Dixie, and Charli), Candace Cameron Bure (Full House), Billy Gardell and Folákẹ́ Olowofoyeku (Bob Hearts Abishola), Cedric the Entertainer (The Neighborhood), Max Greenfield (The Neighborhood), Cristo Fernández (Ted Lasso), Kel Mitchell (Good Burger 2), Corey Feldman (The Goonies), Laura Marano (Choose Love), Reginald VelJohnson (Family Matters), Dee Wallace (E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial), Micah Abbey (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem), Colin Ford and Randy Houser (The Hill), Tony Gonzalez (Former NFL star, Pro Football Hall of Fame Inductee), and more.

The broadcast included a special segment honoring  U.S. Marines Toys for Tots program with the Humanitarian Award presented to Lieutenant General James B. Laster (USMC retired), CEO of the Marine Toys for Tots Foundation, and Major General Len Anderson IV (USMC), for their year-round efforts aiding families in need across the United States.

The Family Film and TV Awards seek to honor excellence in family-orientated film making. These awards are presented to both television series and movies. A panel of industry leaders, celebrities and the readers of Popstar! Magazine will vote for their top choices in 11 different categories. The winners of each category will receive their award during the broadcast.


Outstanding Actors in a Feature Film

  • Chris Pine (“Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves”)
  • Chris Pratt (“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”)
  • Halle Bailey (“The Little Mermaid”)
  • Margot Robbie (“Barbie”) *WINNER*
  • Ryan Gosling (“Barbie”)
  • Timothée Chalamet (“Wonka”)

Outstanding Actors in a TV Series

  • Beth Behrs (“The Neighborhood”)
  • Cedric the Entertainer (“The Neighborhood”) *WINNER*
  • Patrick Stewart (“Star Trek: Picard”)
  • Rob Lowe (“Unstable”)
  • Rosario Dawson (“Ahsoka”)
  • Tim Allen (“The Santa Clauses”)

Best Iconic Family Film

  • “E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial”
  • “Ghostbusters” *WINNER*
  • “Home Alone”
  • “The Goonies”
  • “The Sandlot”

Best Iconic Classic Series (Television)

  • “Family Matters”
  • “Full House” *WINNER*
  • “I Love Lucy”
  • “The Brady Bunch”
  • “The Dick Van Dyke Show”

Best Family Film (Television)

  • “A Million Miles Away”
  • “Choose Love”
  • “Family Switch”
  • “Good Burger 2”
  • “Peter Pan & Wendy”
  • “You Are So Not Invited to My Bat Mitzvah” *WINNER*

Best Family Entertainment Series (Television)

  • “Masters of Illusion”
  • “Survivor”
  • “The Amazing Race” *WINNER*
  • “The Great British Baking Show”
  • “The Masked Singer”

Best Gameshow

  • “Family Feud”
  • “Jeopardy!”
  • “Let’s Make A Deal”
  • “The Price Is Right” *WINNER*
  • “Wheel of Fortune”

Best Ensemble Series (Television)

  • “Loki”
  • “Percy Jackson and the Olympians”
  • “Star Trek: Picard”
  • “The Neighborhood” *WINNER*
  • “Unstable”

Best Ensemble Feature Film

  • “Barbie” *WINNER*
  • “Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves”
  • “Fast X”
  • “Haunted Mansion”
  • “The Little Mermaid”

Best Animated Family Film

  • “Elemental”
  • “Leo” *WINNER*
  • “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”
  • “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem”
  • “The Super Mario Bros. Movie”

Best Family Feature Film

  • “Barbie”
  • “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”
  • “Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny”
  • “Shazam! Fury of the Gods”
  • “The Hill” *WINNER*


Selection Process

Starting in September, Popstar! Magazine and Popstar! News along with Popstar! Today and Popstar! Radio will ask all of it’s over 3.8 million readers and viewers about their favorite family shows.  They will be asked to go to the Popstar! website and list their favorite family shows in categories that are listed on the site for the Family Film Awards.

From that list of reader and viewer suggestions, the editors, contributing writers and Popstar! social commentators will select the nominees for each category of the Family Film Awards.

From that vote, the highest number of votes within each category would then become the winner from that nominee base. Popstar! announces the nominee base four weeks prior to any broadcast.

Awards are only given out to winners (no nominee awards).

Note: Due to the Strike, the results and the Awards themselves were postponed and voting extended.  Results were tabulated in accordance with our normal procedure.

Popstar Award Chairpersons

Montel Williams – Emmy Award Winning Talk Show Host

Dean Cain – Actor/Emmy Award Winning Producer

Laura McKenzie – TV Host / Emmy Award Winner

Elizabeth Stanton – TV Host / Emmy Nominated


Categories Awarded